Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for September 4th, 2008

C is for Cake

Jakob & I managed to squeeze in a cake tasting this morning between my manager’s meeting at 9am and work at 1pm. Luckily, the bakery we went to has five locations in the Denver area. Cakes by Karen is a little more expensive than the other bakeries we’ve tried, and their delivery charge to Estes Park is the highest, but one of their flavors intrigued me, so I had to try it.
While driving home from work tonight, I realized that I’ve been telling you about the results of our cake tastings, but if you’ve never been to one, you may not know what to expect. In our experience, this is what typically goes on. Sometimes you’re asked to look at the list of available flavors and choose the ones you’d like to try. At the tasting itself, cakes are brought out – often in the form of cupcakes. You are given time to taste the options and talk among yourselves before the baker or consultant discusses the nitty-gritty: pricing, servings, flavors, and decor. You are given the opportunity to ask any questions you may have. One thing I like to do is see photos of cakes actually decorated by the person who will be doing our cake. It’s nice to look through a book of ideas, but if the person who will be decorating YOUR cake is unable to execute those designs properly, it’s just a waste of time. And while, yes, I want our wedding cake to be delicious, I also want it to be beautiful.

(more…)

Read Full Post »